Catholic Life

Vaughan pupils win awards

Anna-Maria receives her award in the House of Commons (Photo: Gabe Trodd)

Two pupils at Cardinal Vaughan Memorial School in west London have collected awards for academic achievement at the House of Commons.

Diane Abbott, shadow health minister, honoured high-achieving youngsters at the Commons on Friday, September 30.

The annual award ceremony has been run for the last five years by Miss Abbott and UBS bank. It celebrates outstanding achievement among black boys and girls at GCSE, A-level and university level.

Anna-Maria Seemuyaba won in the category of A-level Girls, beating a group of other high-achieving shortlisted candidates. Over the last couple of years Anna-Maria has managed to juggle her work at school with caring for her father, who is blind. On her way to achieving one A* and two As at Cardinal Vaughan School, Anna-Maria has made time to mentor a younger pupil who has learning difficulties.

But it is not just in the classroom where Anna-Maria has made an impression: she has also become a high-flyer in the school netball and debating teams. Anna-Maria’s hard work is paying off after she recently secured a place to read English at Exeter College, Oxford.

Solomon won in the category of GCSE Boys. Solomon has combined a number of talents as a pupil at Cardinal Vaughan, working hard to achieve six A*s and five As, while spending his spare time composing music and playing the flute in the concert orchestra.

Having done medical work experience Solomon has now set his sights on becoming a doctor and is currently working hard outside the classroom to achieve this.

Youngsters and their families were present at the ceremony at the event, which was attended by prominent black public figures and celebrities, including MPs David Lammy and Chuka Umunna, basketball star John Amaechi and a number of diplomats and high-commissioners.

Anna-Maria, who earlier in the day had been interviewed on BBC London Radio by presenters Gaby Roslin and Paul Ross, was presented with her award by Mr Ameachi.