Latest News

Pope Francis names 13 new cardinals

Archbishop Matteo Zuppi (Community of St Egidio website)

Just one of the new cardinals is from Italy and none are from the US

Pope Francis announced the names of 13 new cardinals at the Angelus today.

They will receive the red hat at a consistory on October 5.

The new cardinals include Archbishop Matteo Zuppi of Bologna, who wrote the foreword to the Italian translation of Fr James Martin SJ’s book Building a Bridge; Archbishop Michael Fitzgerald, an English expert on Christian-Muslim relations; and Fr Michael Czerny SJ, under-secretary of the Migrants and Refugees Section of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development.

Ten of the new cardinals are eligible to take part in a conclave, raising the number of cardinal-electors to 125.

The Pope arrived 25 minutes late for the Angelus. He said he had been stuck in a lift but was freed by firefighters.

The full list of new cardinals:

1) Miguel Ángel Ayuso Guixot MCCJ (b 1952), President of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue

2) José Tolentino Calaça de Mendonça (b 1965), Librarian and Archivist of the Roman Church

3) Ignatius Suharyo Hardjoatmodjo (b 1950), Archbishop of Jakarta, Indonesia

4) Juan de la Caridad García Rodríguez (b 1948), Archbishop of San Cristóbal de la Habana, Cuba

5) Fridolin Ambongo Besungu OFM Cap (b 1960), Archbishop of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo

6) Jean-Claude Hollerich SJ (b 1958), Archbishop of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

7) Álvaro Leonel Ramazzini Imeri (b 1947), Bishop of Huehuetenango, Guatemala

8) Matteo Maria Zuppi (b 1955), Archbishop of Bologna, Italy

9) Cristóbal López Romero SDB (b 1952), Archbishop of Rabat, Morocco

10) Michael Czerny SJ (b 1946), Under-secretary of the Migrant and Refugee Section of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

11) Michael Louis Fitzgerald M Afr (b 1937), Apostolic Nuncio (retired)

12) Sigitas Tamkevicius SJ (b 1938), Archbishop Emeritus of Kaunas, Lithuania

13) Eugenio Dal Corso PSDP (b 1939), Bishop Emeritus of Benguela, Angola