Latest News

Benedict XVI names 22 new cardinals

Cardinal Timothy Dolan of New York (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)

Twenty-two Church leaders will become cardinals at a consistory on February 18, Benedict XVI announced today.

The Pope made the announcement at the midday Angelus for the celebration of the Feast of the Epiphany.

The new cardinals are:

1) Archbishop Fernando Filoni, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelisation of Peoples;

2) Archbishop Manuel Monteiro de Castro, Major Penitentiary;

3) Archbishop Santos Abril Y Castellò, Archpriest of the Basilica of Saint Mary Major;

4) Archbishop Antonio Maria Veglio, president of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People;

5) Archbishop Giuseppe Bertelli, president of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate of the same State;

6) Archbishop Francesco Coccopalmerio, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts;

7) Archbishop João Bráz de Aviz, prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life;

8) Archbishop Edwin O’Brien, Pro Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem;

9) Archbishop Domenico Calcagno, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See;

10) Archbishop Giuseppe Versaldi, president of the Prefecture for Economic Affairs of the Holy See;

11) His Beatitude George Alencherry, Major Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly of the Syro Malabar;

12) Archbishop Thomas Christopher Collins of Toronto;

13) Archbishop Dominik Duka of Prague;

14) Archbishop Willem Jacobus Eijk of Utrecht;

15) Archbishop Giuseppe Betori of Florence;

16) Archbishop Timothy Dolan of New York;

17) Archbishop Rainer Maria Woelki of Berlin;

18) Archbishop John Tong Hon of Hong Kong;

19) His Beatitude Lucian Muresan, Major Archbishop of Fagaras and Alba Julia of the Romanians;

20) Fr Julien Ries, priest of the Diocese of Namur and professor emeritus of history of religions at the Catholic University of Louvain;

21) Fr Prospero Grech, OSA, Professor Emeritus of various Roman universities and Consultant to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;

and 22) Fr Karl Becker, SJ, Professor Emeritus of the Pontifical Gregorian University, Consultant for many years the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.